Compare

HPAT preparation options compared

Official practice tests, courses, question banks and mock platforms: what each offers and what it costs, checked October 2026.

In short: HPAT preparation ranges from ACER's official practice tests (€24 each, one included with registration) to full courses. MedEntry costs from €275, HPATPro €199 with a free tier, Career Services €299, Medic Mind's question bank €19, and PrepGenie €19.99 per mock or €44.99 for three. Prices were checked on 12 October 2026.
Prices and features below come from each provider’s own website, checked on 12 October 2026. They can change, so check the provider before you buy. PrepGenie is one of the providers listed.

The options at a glance

ProviderWhat you getPriceFree optionAccess
ACER (runs the HPAT)Practice Test e-books 1–4 (Tests 1 and 3 with worked solutions) and two 60-question practice sets. The only real past HPAT questions.€24 per practice test, €14 per question set (2026 prices)One practice test included with registration, plus a free online demo of the test platform12 months per e-book
MedEntryOnline courses with 15,000 questions and 15+ exams. Premium adds a live workshop; Comprehensive adds 1:1 tutoring. A standalone simulated exam is also sold.Essential €275, Premium from €345, Comprehensive €1,295; simulated exam €35Free trial with a practice examUntil the end of February 2027
HPATProOnline mock platform: 6 full mock exams plus section mocks, with AI explanations. A tutoring add-on is available.Pro €199; Pro + MyTutor €349100 starter questions and 1 diagnostic mockUntil the end of February 2027; 14-day money-back guarantee
Career ServicesOnline course with video lessons, 420 practice questions with worked solutions, and 2 live FAQ webinars.€299Not statedNot stated
Medic MindHPAT question bank, with optional tutoring packages.Question bank €19; with tutoring €99–€399Free practice testsNot stated
PrepGenie3 full-length mocks, 114 questions each, timed to ACER’s published format, with worked solutions and an estimated score. No video lessons or tutoring.€19.99 per mock, €44.99 for all three9 free practice questionsUntil the end of the 2027 HPAT

How to choose

Start with ACER’s own material, whatever else you buy. It is the only source of real past questions, and one practice test comes with your registration. ACER points out that preparation courses are not recommended, authorised by or associated with it.

After that, decide what you are missing:

  • If you want to be taught the methods, a course with lessons, such as MedEntry or Career Services, gives you structure. These cost the most.
  • If you want lots of questions to drill, a question bank such as MedEntry’s, HPATPro’s or Medic Mind’s gives you volume.
  • If you mainly want more full-length timed mocks after ACER’s papers, mock platforms such as HPATPro or PrepGenie are built for that. PrepGenie has fewer mocks (3) at a lower price; HPATPro has more (6) and a free tier.

Whatever you choose, the habit that matters most is sitting full timed tests and reviewing every mistake. See our 12-week preparation plan.

Sources

If you represent one of these providers and something here is out of date, tell us and we will correct it.

Last checked: October 2026. Facts on this page are taken from the official HPAT-Ireland website and the ACER Test Taker Information Booklet for the 2026 test, checked in October 2026. Always confirm dates and rules at hpat-ireland.acer.org before you register.